Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

2020 Ebonite Fall Classic: Stubler outduels McNiel for title

  • Updated
  • 0

WATERLOO — Nate Stubler of LaSalle, Ill., topped a field of more than 205 Sunday to win the 2020 Ebonite Fall Classic at Cadillac XBC.

The event, which featured PBA regulars Sean Rash, Tom Hess, Nick Pate, Nick Kruml, Matt McNiel and Mitch Hupe, paid out more than $33,000 in prize money.

Stubler, the second highest qualifier, topped former champion Matt McNiel of Minneapolis in the finals, 231-168. Stubler opened with five strikes in the final match, while McNiel had a pair of open frames and that enough separation for Stubler.

The two bowlers averaged 232 and 231 in 13 qualifying games to qualify for the stepladder finals. They were joined in the finals by Darin Bloomquist, Cameron Crowe and Nick Heilman.

Bloomquist opened by beating Heilman, 210-201, and then Bloomquist beat Crow, 243-220 to advance to a semifinal showdown with Stubler where his run ended in a 185-167 Stubler victory.

Stubler earned $3,000 for his victory, while McNiel took home $2,300.

Top local finishers were Greg Engelkes (33rd), Andy Buelow (45th), Josh Peverill (50th) and Jacob Bedard (51st).

The tournament drew bowlers from California, Utah, Alaska and all of the surrounding states.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Reporter

I’m a Waterloo native who has covered Cedar Valley sports for more than 30 years for the Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier. I’m also a big Cincinnati Reds fan … Go Big Red Machine!

Related to this story

Most Popular

Kevin Harvick got his groove back, fittingly at one of his favorite tracks. Harvick ended a 65-race winless drought that lasted nearly nearly two years with his sixth victory at Michigan International Speedway on Sunday. The No. 4 Ford pulled away from Bubba Wallace and the rest the field following a restart with 35 laps to go. The Stewart-Haas Racing driver took advantage of clean air, helping him coast to his 59th victory. Wallace finished second in his No. 23 Toyota followed by Denny Hamlin in his No. 11 Toyota.

Sydney McLaughlin took the last victorious lap of an all-American world championships. She pulled away in the 4-by-400 relay to close a U.S. runaway and give the Americans their record 33rd medal for the meet. McLaughlin turned a .73-second lead into a 2.93-second runaway on the anchor lap, adding this burst of speed to the world record she set two nights earlier in the 400 hurdles. Two more world records went down — in the very first and very last action of the last session at Hayward Field. Nigeria’s Tobi Amusan opened the evening by setting the record for the 100-meter hurdles in the semifinals: 12.12 seconds. And, pole vaulter Armand Duplantis of Sweden cleared 6.21 meters (20 feet, 4 1/2 inches) to best his world record.

First-place finisher Denny Hamlin was disqualified when his No. 11 Toyota failed inspection, giving Chase Elliott the NASCAR Cup Series victory Sunday at Pocono Raceway. Joe Gibbs Racing had Hamlin’s car and runner-up Kyle Busch’s No. 18 Toyota both disqualified. Hamlin lost his record seventh victory at Pocono and his third win of the season. Busch had led a race-high 63 laps. There was no immediate word why the Toyotas were disqualified. Elliott, who had finished third, was given his fourth win of the season. NASCAR believed the last time it disqualified an apparent winner was April 17, 1960, when Emanuel Zervakis’ victory at Wilson Speedway in North Carolina was thrown out because of an oversized fuel tank.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News