Iowa State head men’s basketball coach Steve Prohm is one of 20 finalists for the 2017 Skip Prosser Award, which is presented annually to a coach who has success on the court and displays moral integrity off the court.

Prohm, in his second season at Iowa State, led the Cyclones to a 24-11 record, the Big 12 Conference tournament championship and an NCAA Tournament berth.


The Wolf Creek Rugby Club based in La Porte City and Dysart is hosting a tournament Friday night at the middle school football field in Dysart.

The eight-team field also includes Waverly-Shell Rock, Osage, Waterloo, Cedar Falls, Iowa City and Cedar Rapids. The opening game is at 6:30 p.m.

Wolf Creek Rugby was the Iowa Youth Rugby Association 1A champion last fall.

Admission for the tounament is $5 with children six and under free.


Former Waterloo Black Hawks forward Justin Kloos signed a two-year free agent contract with the NHL’s Minnesota Wild Wednesday and will have a tryout with the Iowa Wild with an opportunity to make his professional debut this spring.

A former Minnesota Mr. Hockey Award winner, Kloos was second in the United States Hockey League in scoring during the 2012-13 season with 87 points in just 54 games. He went on to the University of Minnesota.

Track and field

Union High School’s Megan Hudson and Waterloo East’s Tarrel Manning have signed to compete in track and field for Hawkeye Community College next season.

Hudson is a four-time state qualifier who has finished second twice in the 100-meter hurdles and was part of state championships in the shuttle hurdle and 4x100 relays. She was also an all-state volleyball standout for the Knights.

Manning was a 2015 state qualifier in the high jump and recently won the high jump at a meet in Decorah. She also runs the 200 meters.


Former University of Iowa national champion and University of Northern Iowa head coach Brad Penrith is one of three individuals who have been named to the upstate New York chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Penrith, a graduate of Windsor High in New York who now lives in Cedar Falls, won the 98-pound state title in 1981 and later won the 126-pound national championship in 1986 at Iowa.

Three members of the University of Northern Iowa wrestling team have been named to the Academic All-Mid-American Conference team.

Senior Dylan Peters was honored for the second time, while Max Thomsen and Bryce Steiert also made the team. To qualify, a 3.20 cumulative grade-point average and participation in at least 50 percent of the team’s events is required.

Walleye fishing

Darwin and Jeff Heltibridle used a 10.58-pound walleye to capture the first Cedar Valley Walleye Club tournament of the season March 25 on Pool 9 of the Mississippi River.

The Heltibridles finished with 17.17 pounds. Larry Venner and Chad Osthoff were second at 12.25 pounds with Taylor Steffens and Connor Steffens third at 8.89 pounds.

For more information about the CVWC or its tournament schedule, go online at www.cedarvalleywalleyeclub.org.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments