• Megan Gustafson became the first Iowa women’s basketball player to be named the Big Ten player of the year in two decades Monday.

The junior post who leads the nation in scoring at 25.3 points per game and ranks in the top five in the country in eight statistical categories, was named by media who cover the conference as the Big Ten’s best player.

Conference coaches handed the honor to Ohio State senior Kelsey Mitchell, the third time in her career she has received Big Ten player of the year recognition.

Both were unanimously chosen as first-team all-conference picks by both groups, who also selected Michigan’s Katelynn Flaherty unanimously to the first team.

Gustafson earned first team all-Big Ten honors for the second straight season.

Iowa’s Kathleen Doyle earned second team all-conference recognition from league coaches and was awarded honorable mention from conference media.

The sophomore, an all-freshman team selection a year ago, averaged 12.6 points and a Big Ten-leading 7.5 assists per game. Junior Hannah Stewart was named as Iowa’s Big Ten sportsmanship honoree.

  • Ohio State’s breakout men’s basketball season was rewarded Monday with some of the most prestigious Big Ten postseason awards.

Buckeyes junior forward Keita Bates-Diop was named the Big Ten’s player of the year by both the coaches and media while Chris Holtmann was honored by both as the league’s coach of the year.

Bates-Diop was joined on the All-Big Ten first team of both teams by Miles Bridges of Michigan State, Tony Carr of Penn State and Carsen Edwards of Purdue. The coaches gave the fifth spot to James Palmer Jr. of Nebraska while the media went with Wisconsin star Ethan Happ.

Michigan State’s Jaren Jackson was named both the freshman of the year and the defensive player of the year.


  • Three Waterloo Warriors players have been named Midwest High School Hockey League All-Stars in voting by the head coaches.

Kole Latusick, Carter Herbst and Keegan Smith represent the Warriors on the honor squad.

Latusick, a sophomore winger from Cedar Falls, leads the Warriors in scoring with 18 goals and 20 assists and ranked ninth in the MHSHL during the regular season. He was a first-team All-Star selection.

Herbst, a junior center from Denver, owns 14 goals and 14 assists while Smith, a junior from Waterloo West, has contributed four goals and 12 assists as a defenseman. Both were named second-team All-Stars.

  • Jackson Cates of the Waterloo Black Hawks, who passed the 50-point mark over the weekend, was named United States Hockey League Forward of the Week Monday.

Cates had the game-winning goal in a 2-1 victory over Des Moines and recorded a hat trick Saturday in a loss to Lincoln. Cates scored or assisted on five of the seven goals Waterloo scored during the weekend.

  • The Waterloo Black Hawks’ 2018 Futures Camps will take place July 26-29 for skaters, July 29-Aug. 1 for 2003, ‘04 and ‘05 goaltenders and Aug. 2-5 for 2004 and ‘05 skaters.

Registration is $450 for skaters or $550 for goalies and is due by June 30.

For more information, go online at or call (319) 232-3444.


  • Waterloo West sophomore Lauren Conrey was incorrectly identified as playing for Waterloo East in a story Thursday on the metro all-Mississippi Valley Conference selections. The Courier regrets the error.


  • Numerous Northeast Iowa anglers and hunters who registered trophy catches or trophy bucks with the Iowa Department of Natural Resources have been invited to receive awards during the annual Eastern Iowa Sportshow in the UNI-Dome March 9-11.

Those earning the “Big Fish Angler” award receive a print by artist Greg Bordignon while “Trophy Buck” recipients will also receive a signed and serialized print by Bordignon.

Award recipients


Keith Adams, Raymond (26-inch walleye, 22-inch shorthead redhorse, 8.25-inch rock bass, 10.5-inch yellow bass)

Brody Ahrens, Cedar Falls (11.25-inch yellow bass)

Randall Azbill, Sr., Waterloo (15-inch black crappie)

Bill Behrens, Cedar Falls (10.5-inch yellow bass)

Thomas Behrens, Cedar Falls (35.25-inch northern pike)

Anthony Brocka, Waterloo (10-inch yellow bass)

Allen Clarks, Waterloo (9.5-inch rock bass)

Michael Cutsforth, Waterloo (26-inch walleye, 33-inch channel catfish, 23-inch rainbow trout)

Dennis Frisbey, Waterloo (29-inch walleye)

Brian Gerber, Waterloo (14-inch black crappie, 19-inch white bass)

Jeffrey Hendershot, Waterloo (9.5-inch rock bass)

Clay Hildman, Cedar Falls (19-inch white sucker, 21-inch white sucker, 26-inch shovelnose sturgeon)

Jared Hoodjer, Janesville (35-inch northern pike)

Jason Keesy, Cedar Falls (22-inch rainbow trout, 20-inch brown trout, 20-inch rainbow trout, 18-inch brown trout, 19-inch brown trout)

Joe Lambert, Waterloo (9-inch rock bass)

Tanya Lang, Evansdale (12.5-inch yellow perch)

Brett McClain, Waterloo (10-inch yellow bass, 36-inch northern pike)

Bryan Olson, Cedar Falls (20-inch white sucker, 36.5-inch flathead catfish, 32-inch channel catfish)

Douglas Petersen, Cedar Falls (29-inch walleye, 30-inch walleye)

Kole Schug, Waterloo (36-inch northern pike, 19-inch brown trout)

Jacob Severson, Waterloo (21-inch smallmouth bass)

Alex Shepard, Waterloo (10.5-inch yellow bass, 13-inch yellow bass)

Hollie Smith, Waterloo (22.5-inch largemouth bass)

Benjamin Wilson, Cedar Falls (10.5-inch bluegill)

James Wilson, Waterloo (26-inch walleye, 10-5-inch bluegill)


Fredrick A. Breitbach, Gilbertville (141 3/8 bow, typical)

Cody Dalton, Waterloo (161 1/8, bow, typical)

William Glenny, Waterloo (153 6/8, bow, typical)

Nicholas Hernandez, Waterloo (135 3/8, bow, typical)

Thor Johnson, Dunkerton (133 7/8, bow, typical)

Dustin Knight, Gilbertville (170 6/8, bow, non-typical)

Michael Kofta, Cedar Falls (146 6/8, bow, typical)

Ryan Peterson, Dunkerton (146 2/8, bow, typical)

Christopher Pett, Waterloo (142 2/8, bow, typical)

Glen Pullin, Waterloo (147 1/8, bow, typical)

Christian Shropshire, Waterloo) 150 2/8, bow, typical)

Joshua Vannatta, raymond (157 3/8, bow, typical)

Bradley Voves, Waterloo (145 6/8, bow, typical and 134, bow, typical)

Bryan Weber, Raymond (130, bow, typical)

Michael Weisert, Gilbertville (139 2/8, bow, typical)