• Iowa State has been picked to finish third in the Big 12 Conference this season in the league's preseason media poll announced Wednesday.

Oklahoma is the favorite with Texas second. TCU is fourth and Oklahoma State fifth followed by Baylor, Texas Tech, West Virginia, Kansas State and Kansas.

Iowa State returns eight starters on both sides of the ball from an 8-5 team that played in the Alamo Bowl and was ranked in the top 25 in the final Associated Press poll of the 2018 season.


  • Kent Patterson will return for a second season as the Waterloo Black Hawks’ goaltending coach, the club announced Monday.

Patterson, who also serves as West Director/Lead Instructor for the M.E.G.A. Total Development goaltending program based in the Twin Cities, mentored a talented group of goaltenders in Waterloo last season. Jared Moe, Logan Stein and Evan Fear combined for five shutouts and limited opponents to 2.79 goals per game, fourth-best in the USHL.

Patterson made the USHL All-Rookie team as a goalie for the Cedar Rapids RoughRiders in 2006-07, then was a two-year starter during his college career at Minnesota. A 2007 draft pick of the Colorado Avalanche, Patterson spent six years in professional hockey.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member


  • The University of Iowa has added Bobby Hughes to its volleyball coaching staff.

Hughes, owner and director of Skyline Volleyball Club, has 12 years of high school coaching experience and three Illinois High School regional championships at Regina Dominican High school.

The TCU graduate has also coached boys’ high school volleyball and earned the USA Volleyball Robert Lindsay Meritorious Award in 2017.

Hughes will lead the defensive efforts for the Hawkeyes.


  • A school record-tying five Wartburg College golfers have been named Women’s Golf Coaches Association Scholar All-Americans.

To qualify, student-athletes must have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.50 or higher. Katie Choate of Cedar Rapids, Brooke Klostermann of Dyersville, Alisha Ford of Grinnell, Mackenzie Roberts of Cedar Falls and Victoria Speltz of New Hampton are Wartburg’s representatives.

Get Breaking News delivered directly to you.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments