You are the owner of this article.
Prep volleyball: Tigers dominate all-MVC squads

Prep volleyball: Tigers dominate all-MVC squads


Cedar Falls swept the athlete of the year and coach of the year awards and had six players named all-Mississippi Valley Conference as the league announced its postseason honors Tuesday.

Tiger senior Akacia Brown was named athlete of the year and head coach Matt Johnson earned coach of the year accolades.

Brown led a deep and balanced Cedar Falls squad with a 4.43 kills per set average and was one of the team’s top servers. Johnson guided the Tigers to the state’s No. 1 ranking and a 41-1 record heading into next week’s Class 5A state tournament.

Brown, Emerson Green, Alayna Yates and Kirsten Graves, who are all seniors, represent Cedar Falls on the Mississippi Division first team. Senior Jada Golden-Smith and junior Emmy Wedgbury made the second team while freshman Katie Remmert and sophomore Alivia Bronner earned honorable mention recognition, along with Waterloo East’s Jenna O’Donnell and Grace Frost.

In the Valley Division, a Waterloo West team that fell one match short of a state tournament berth had three all-MVC selections.

Senior Avery Kroll, who led Class 5A with her average of 4.64 kills per set, made the first team with senior Lauren Conrey and freshman Sahara Williams landing on the second team. Juniors Caira Hall and Gabby Moore were named honorable mention.

All-Mississippi Valley


First team — Eve Magill (C.R. Xavier), Akacia Brown, sr. (Cedar Falls), Emerson Green, sr. (Cedar Falls), Alayna Yates, sr. (Cedar Falls), Kelsey Law, sr. (I.C. High), Jazmine Yamilkoski, jr. (C.R. Xavier), Elyse Winter, jr. (C.R. Xavier), Kylee Oldenburger, sr. (C.R. Prairie), Kirsten Graves, sr. (Cedar Falls).

Second team (metro only) — Jada Golden-Smith, sr. (Cedar Falls), Emmy Wedgbury, jr. (Cedar Falls).

Honorable mention (metro only) — Katie Remmert, fr. (Cedar Falls), Alivia Bronner, soph. (Cedar Falls), Jenna O’Donnell, sr. (Wat. East), Grace Frost, sr. (Wat. East).

Athlete of year — Akacia Brown, sr. (Cedar Falls).

Coach of year — Matt Johnson and staff (Cedar Falls).


First team — Emily Strauss, sr. (Linn-Mar), Aliyah Carter, sr. (Dub. Wahlert), Corinne Meier, jr. (Dub. Hempstead), Avery Kroll, sr. (Wat. West), Abby Feldmann, sr. (C.R. Kennedy), Rylee Fay, sr. (I.C. Liberty), Cassidy Hartmann, fr. (I.C. Liberty), Cassidy Boche, sr. (C.R. Jefferson), Grace Leuken, sr. (Dub. Wahlert).

Second team (metro only) — Lauren Conrey, sr. (Wat. West), Sahara Williams, fr. (Wat. West).

Honorable mention (metro only) — Caira Hall, jr. (Wat. West), Gabby Moore, jr. (Wat. West).

Athlete of year — Aliyah Carter, sr. (Dub. Wahlert).

Coach of year — Lindsey Beaves and staff (Dub. Wahlert).


Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News