Try 1 month for 99¢

Cedar Falls seniors Taylor Lynch and Tayah Mahi were named co-athletes of the year and six Tiger players earned first- or second-team all-Mississippi Valley Conference honors Tuesday.

Lynch leads a deep Cedar Falls squad in kills with 254 and in aces with 83. She is hitting .304 on the season. Mahi has 99 kills at .415 efficiency and averages 10.26 assists and 2.00 digs per set.

Joining Lynch and Mahi on the Valley Division first team are Grace Burken and Claire Gerdes, while Abby Hendrickson and Cynthia Wolf made the second team for the 40-2 Tigers, who begin state tournament play next Tuesday.

Waterloo West’s Kaylissa Arndorfer was a second-team selection in the Mississippi Division.

All-Mississippi Valley


First team — Maddie Slagle, sr. (C.R. Jefferson), Charlotte Richards, sr. (C.R. Xavier), Maddy Baxter, jr. (C.R. Jefferson), Aliyah Carter, soph. (Dub. Wahlert), Megan Renner, jr. (Linn-Mar), Colby Greene, sr. (I.C. West), Krystal Tranel, sr. (Dub. Wahlert), Kaylee Donner, jr. (C.R. Jefferson).

Second team (metro only) — Kaylissa Arndorfer, jr. (Wat. West).

Honorable mention (metro only) — Lexi Wroe, sr. (Wat. East), Brianna Netty, sr. (Wat. East), Shelby Schoonover, sr. (Wat. West), Mary Smith, sr. (Wat. West).

All-academic (metro only) — Netty (Wat. East), Wroe (Wat. East), Smith (Wat. West), Morgan Ubbelohde, sr. (Wat. West).

Athlete of year — Maddie Slagle, sr. (C.R. Jefferson)

Coach of year — Amy Norton (C.R. Jefferson).


First team — Taylor Lynch, sr. (Ced. Falls), Tayah Mahi, sr. (Ced. Falls), Grace Burken, sr. (Ced. Falls), Jada Wills, soph. (Dub. Hempstead), Jenna Wagemester, sr. (C.R. Prairie), Claire Gerdes, sr. (Ced. Falls), Amber Cooksley, sr. (Dub. Hempstead), Mackenzie Murphy, jr. (I.C. High).

Second team (metro only) — Abby Hendrickson, sr. (Ced. Falls), Cynthia Wolf, sr. (Ced. Falls).

Honorable mention (metro only) — Majda Suljic, sr. (Ced. Falls), Akacia Brown, soph. (Ced. Falls).

All-academic (metro only) — Hendrickson, sr. (Ced. Falls), Lynch, sr. (Ced. Falls), Burken, sr. (Ced. Falls).

Athletes of year — Taylor Lynch, sr. (Ced. Falls), Tayah Mahi, sr. (Cedar Falls).

Coach of year — Travis Wills (Dub. Hempstead).

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments