Try 3 months for $3

State runner-up Cedar Falls has seven players on the Class 4A, All-District 3 first team, including the defensive player of the year and special teams player of the year, while Waterloo West has two.

Record-setting receiver Logan Wolf made the first-team offense along with lineman Jackson Leistikow, quarterback Cael Loecher and kicker Matthew Cook, who earned special teams player of the year honors. West’s Brenden Burton is on the first-team offense, as well.

On defense, Iowa commit Jack Campbell heads the team and is the defensive player of the year. He is joined by Tiger teammates Tate Johnson and Dakota Southworth, along with West standout Noah Susong.

Cedar Falls has five more second-team selections — Jackson Frericks, Caleb Holtzman, Justin Campbell, Collin Bohnenkamp and Tyson French. West had three second-team picks in Tanner Pollock, Isaac Tolbert and Amel Saric.

Tiger head coach Brad Remmert and his staff were named Coaching Staff of the Year.



Offense — Logan Wolf, sr. (Cedar Falls), Jackson Leistikow, sr. (Cedar Falls), Cael Loecher, jr. (Cedar Falls), Matthew Cook, sr. (Cedar Falls), Keegan Simmons, sr. (C.R. Prairie), Jesse Hilby, Sr. (Dub. Hempstead), Chase Sabers, sr. (Dub. Hempstead), Noah Gerken, sr. (Dub. Senior), Brenden Burton, sr. (Wat. West).

Defense — Jack Campbell, sr. (Cedar Falls), Tate Johnson, sr. (Cedar Falls), Dakota Southworth, sr. (Cedar Falls), Tyler Graham, sr. (C.R. Prairie), Logan LaGrange, sr. (C.R. Prairie), Gavin Ozmun, sr. (C.R. Prairie), Armon Pledge, sr. (C.R. Prairie), Reed Snitker, sr. (Dub. Hempstead), Joe Vize, sr. (Dub. Hempstead), Nick Kubitz, sr. (Dub. Senior), Carter Konrardy, jr. (Dub. Senior), Kenny Moore, jr. (C.R. Jefferson), Jacob Thompson, jr. (C.R. Jefferson), Noah Susong, sr. (Wat. West).

SECOND TEAM (metro only)

Offense — Jackson Frericks, sr. (Cedar Falls), Caleb Holtzman, sr. (Cedar Falls), Justin Campbell, sr. (Cedar Falls), Tanner Pollock, sr. (Wat. West), Isaac Tolbert, jr. (Wat. West), Amel Saric, sr. (Wat. West).

Defense — Collin Bohnenkamp, jr. (Cedar Falls), Tyson French, sr. (Cedar Falls).


Sam Gary, sr. (Cedar Falls), Nate King, sr. (Cedar Falls), Ben Saak, sr. (Cedar Falls), Alex Paxson, jr. (Cedar Falls), Mac Pedro, sr. (Wat. West), Carter Maske, jr. (Wat. West), Nate Ewell, soph. (Wat. West), Mike Robinson, jr. (Wat. West).

ALL-ACADEMIC (metro only)

David Louviere (Cedar Falls), Logan Wolf (Cedar Falls), Brenden Burton (Wat. West), Tanner Pollock (Wat. West).

Offensive player of year — Keegan Simmons, sr. (C.R. Prairie)

Defensive player of year — Jack Campbell, sr. (Cedar Falls)

Special teams player of year — Matthew Cook, sr. (Cedar Falls)

Coach of year — Brad Remmert and staff (Cedar Falls)

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments