Try 1 month for 99¢

A pair of metro players earned first-team all-Mississippi Valley Conference baseball accolades Thursday.

Waterloo West junior Noah Susong is on the Mississippi Division’s top honor squad, while Cedar Falls junior Casey Sole made the top team in the Valley Division.

Susong led the Wahawks with a .364 batting average and 22 RBIs. Of his 39 hits, 16 went for extra bases — 12 doubles, two triples and two home runs. He also stole 11 bases in 12 attempts and had an on-base percentage of .424.

Sole batted .301 with a team-leading 27 RBIs for Cedar Falls. He finished with an on-base percentage of .468.

Cedar Falls also has a pair of second-team selections in juniors Mitch Young (.377 average, 21 stolen bases) and Tanner Schiefelbein (.316 batting average, 5-4 pitching record with a 3.99 ERA).

All-MVC baseball


First team — P—Chase Keeney, jr. (C.R. Jefferson), Aaron bartels, sr. (C.R. Xavier). C—Lucas Karwal, sr. (I.C. West). 1B—Spencer Goerdt, sr. (Dub. Wahlert). IF—Braden Houston, sr. (I.C. West), Gabe Lux, sr. (C.R. Xavier), Brayden Frazier, sr. (C.R. Jefferson). OF—Coy Sarsfield, fr. (Linn-Mar), Noah Susong, jr. (Wat. West), Nate Annis, sr. (Linn-Mar). UT—Jimmy McDermott, sr. (Dub. Wahlert), T.J. Kuennen, sr. (C.R. Jefferson).

Honorable mention (metro only) — Cameron Berinobis, sr. (Wat. East), Jaxson Bentley, fr. (Wat. East), Carter Meyerhoff, sr. (Wat. West), Carter Schulte, fr. (Wat. West).

All-academic (metro only) — Noel Guzman, sr. (Wat. East), Braeden McNamara, sr. (Wat. East), Dawson Sturch, sr. (Wat. West), Noah Susong, jr. (Wat. West).

Athlete of year — Gabe Lux, sr. (C.R. Xavier).

Coach of year — Dan Halter and staff (C.R. Xavier).


First team — P—Jacob Bockenstedt, sr. (C.R. Washington), Connor Crabill, sr. (Dub. Hempstead). C—Casey Sole, jr. (Cedar Falls). 1B—Mason Hook, sr. (C.R. Prairie). IF—Griff Clark, sr. (C.R Prairie), Sam Link, jr. (Dub. Senior), Travis Reyhons, sr. (I.C. High). OF—Levi Usher, sr. (C.R. Prairie), Lincoln Riley, jr. (C.R. Washington), Wil Courtney, sr. (Dub. Hempstead). UT—Harrison Cook, jr. (C.R. Prairie), Graham Woods, sr. (C.R. Kennedy).

Second team (metro only) — Mitch Young, jr. (Cedar Falls), Tanner Schiefelbein, jr. (Cedar Falls).

Honorable mention (metro only) — Tate Johnson, jr. (Cedar Falls), Jacob Renda, sr. (Cedar Falls).

All-Academic (metro only) — Benjamin Paxson, sr. (Cedar Falls), Jacob Renda, sr. (Cedar Falls).

Athlete of year — Levi Usher, sr. (C.R. Prairie).

Coach of year — Todd Rima and staff (C.R. Prairie).

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments