Subscribe for 33¢ / day


  • Penn State's Saquon Barkley is the offensive player of the year for the second straight season and Iowa linebacker Josey Jewell is defensive player of the year on The Associated Press All-Big Ten Conference team released Wednesday.

Wisconsin took the other two top honors. Freshman running back Jonathan Taylor was voted newcomer of the year after leading the league in rushing by a wide margin. Paul Chryst was named coach of the year after guiding the Badgers to a 12-0 regular season prior to their loss in the Big Ten championship game.

Jewell, a second-team pick last year, averages a Big Ten-leading 11.4 tackles. He has 13.5 tackles for loss, 4.5 sacks, two interceptions and 11 pass breakups.

Iowa cornerback Josh Jackson, the national co-leader with seven interceptions, was the only unanimous first-team pick. Hawkeye guard Sean Welsh made the second team.

  • Wartburg College had a program record-tying five players selected to's All-West Region team Tuesday.

Senior receiver Riley Brockway of Postville and senior offensive tackle Derek Schipper of Ackley made the first team while junior quarterback Matt Sacia of Eldridge, senior defensive tackle Dillon Radamaker of Greene and senior linebacker Rob Rottler of Greene were named to the second team.

Wisconsin-Oshkosh quarterback Brett Kasper is the West Region offensive player of the year, cornerback Michael Joseph of Dubuque is the defensive player of the year and Oshkosh's Pat Cerroni is coach of the year.


  • Waterloo Black Hawks goaltender Jared Moe and forward Jack Drury have been invited to take part in the USHL/NHL Top Prospects game in January, the United States Hockey League announced Wednesday.

Moe ranks second in the USHL in goals-against (1.71) and save percentage (93.5) and owns a 7-3 record with two shutouts. Drury, leads Waterloo in scoring with 17 points (four goals, 13 assists).

The Top Prospects game showcases the USHL's top players for the 2018 National Hockey League Draft. It will be played in Kearney, Nebraska.


Load comments