ST. LOUIS — University of Northern Iowa tight end Briley Moore and offensive guard Jackson Scott-Brown have been named to the Missouri Valley Football Conference preseason offensive first team.

Moore, a senior from Blue Springs, Mo., was the Panthers’ leading receiver and earned first-team all-MVFC honors a year ago after catching 39 passes for 536 yards and four touchdowns.

Scott-Brown, a 6-foot-4, 310-pound people mover up front, has started 33 consecutive games for UNI and is coming off a season in which he was honorable mention all-conference. The preseason all-MVFC offense also includes Indiana State quarterback Ryan Boyle, a former West Des Moines Dowling standout. Boyle is one of four Sycamores selected. South Dakota State has three players on the team and North Dakota State and Illinois State two each.

Among the honorable mention preseason picks are three more players from South Dakota State and two each from North Dakota State, South Dakota and Illinois State.

The preseason all-MVFC defensive team will be announced Wednesday.

Preseason all-MVFC


QB — Ryan Boye, sr. (Indiana State).

RB — D.J. Davis, sr. (Southern Ill.), James Robinson, sr. (Illinois St.), Pierre Strong Jr., soph. (S. Dakota St.).

FB — Clint Ratkovich, jr. (Western Ill.)

WR — Dakarai Allen, sr. (S. Dakota), Dante Hendrix, soph. (Indiana St.), Cade Johnson, jr. (S. Dakota St.).

TE — Briley Moore, sr. (Northern Iowa).

OL — Drew Himmelman, jr. (Illinois St.), Zach Johnson, sr. (N. Dakota St.), Dillon Radunz, jr. (N. Dakota St.), Jackson Scott-Brown, sr. (Northern Iowa), Wyatt Wozniak, sr. (Indiana St.)

LS — Bradey Sorensen, jr. (S. Dakota St.).

PK — Jerry Nunez, sr. (Indiana St.)

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments