DUBUQUE — Make it 25 in a row for the Wartburg College wrestling team.

The top-ranked Knights (20-0 overall, 8-0 in Iowa Conference) were dominant once again Thursday as they blanked 16th-ranked Loras College (12-7, 7-1), 32-0, to win their 25th consecutive Iowa Conference championship.

It was Wartburg’s 196th consecutive IIAC dual meet victory and the victory capped off one of its most dominant seasons in conference history as it outscored its eight conference foes, 277-22.

Thursday, the Knights got major decisions from Logan Thomsen at 157, 9-0 over Jimmy Davis, and Eric DeVos at 174, 12-4 over Eddie Smith. Wartburg also got a key win from second-ranked Kyle Fank at 197 as he topped 10th-ranked Guy Patron Jr., 10-5.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

The Knights are now off until Feb. 25 when they head to a NCAA Division III Central Regional at the Five Flags Center in Dubuque.

Wartburg 32, Loras 0

125 — Arnulfo Olea (Wart) dec. Matt Randone 4-0, 133 — Connor Campo (Wart) dec. Michael Triplett 6-2, 141 — Cross Cannone (Wart) dec. Clint Lembeck 5-4, 149 — Kenny Martin (Wart) dec. Evan Weaver 10-8, 157 — Logan Thomsen (Wart) major dec. Jimmy Davis 9-0, 165 — Andrew Steiert (Wart) dec. Ross Lembeck 4-1, 174 — Eric DeVos (Wart) major. dec. Eddie Smith 12-4, 184 — Bryan Levsen (Wart) dec. Awais Arain 5-2, 197 — Kyle Fank (Wart) dec. Guy Patron Jr. 10-5, Hwt. — Lance Evans (Wart) dec. Quin Gilliam, 1-0.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Reporter

Sports reporter for The Courier

Load comments