Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Waterloo Bucks logo


  • University of Northern Iowa guard Wyatt Lohaus has been named to the Missouri Valley Conference All-Bench team.

The junior from North Liberty has returned from early season injury problems to average 9.0 points per game, the most by any player in the league who has not started a game. Lohaus has a team-best 32 3-pointers in conference games and has scored in double figures 10 times.

Lohaus is joined on the All-Bench team by Markus Golder of Valparaiso, Reggie Scurry of Missouri State, Tyler Smithpeters of Southern Illinois, Lucas Williamson of Loyola and Graham Woodward of Drake.

  • Iowa State standout Bridget Carleton was a unanimous selection for the all-Big 12 Conference first team announced Wednesday.

The junior from Chatham, Ontario, who also made the first team last season, is averaging 18.8 points, 6.7 rebounds, 3.6 assists, 2.1 steals and 0.9 blocks. She has scored in double figures in all 29 of Iowa State's games this season.

Other players on the all-Big 12 first team are Kalani Brown, Lauren Cox and Kristy Wallace of Baylor, Vionise Pierre-Louis of Oklahoma, Loryn Goodwin and Kaylee Jensen of Oklahoma State, Ariel Atkins and Brooke McCarty of Texas and Teana Muldrow of West Virginia.

Brown was selected as player of the year, Cox as defensive player of the year, Goodwin as newcomer of the year, Shaina Pellington of Oklahoma as freshman of the year, Amy Okonkwo of TCU as sixth man of the year and Baylor's Kim Mulkey as coach of the year.


  • The Waterloo Bucks have teamed up with the Northwoods League Foundation to provide $2,500 in baseball equipment to an area youth baseball team.

The Foundation's grant is part of the "Share the Glove" initiative and is one of 20 provided to the Northwoods League community. Each grant provides two sets of catchers' gear, 10 gloves, eight batting helmets, six bats and one bucket of practice balls.

The Bucks will be accepting applications for the grant until April 12. Application forms are available online at For more information, contact the Bucks' office at (319) 232-0500.


  • Five University of Northern Iowa wrestlers have earned Academic All-Big 12 Conference honors.

Max Thomsen and Isaiah Patton made the first team, which requires athletes to maintain a grade-point average of 3.2 or better. Jake Hodges, Jacob Holschlag and Paden Moore made the second team, which requires a minimum 3.0 GPA.


Load comments