PARKERSBURG — New Hampton-Turkey Valley had to set the stage before it can think of climbing the podium.

Saturday, the Chickasaws set the stage.

With six champions and three runners-up, NH-TV qualified nine wrestlers for this week’s state tournament at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines with an impressive performance at the Class 2A Parkersburg district.

It was a good stage-builder for a program looking for its first traditional state title since 1993 and seventh overall.

“Last year, we took six guys and were a half-point behind and lost,” New Hampton head coach Nick Hemann said.”Having nine guys gives us a little more firepower to compete with everybody. We’re excited to take a full crew down and see what we can do.”

Led by Michael Blockhus and Noah Fye, who each captured their fourth district championships, New Hampton claimed the team title with 186 points, 89 more than runner-up Osage.

Carson Babcock (120), Max Babcock (132), Noah Glaser (170) and Aeron Day (220) also claimed district crowns. Mason Cleveland at 126, Cale Reicks at 160 and Evan Rosonke at 182 qualified as runner-ups.

“I honestly don’t think we could’ve wrestled any better,” Hemann said. “The matches we were outclassed in, we went down fighting and closed the gap. Proud of our guys. We had a great day. Real close to perfect. Pretty happy. Pretty happy.”

Blockhus, who will seek to become the 58th four-time finalist and 83rd three-time champion next week, pinned Koby Hassebrock of Roland-Story in 44 seconds to win his title.

“We want to go out with a bang,” Blockhus said of the Chickasaws’ performance Saturday. “We not only win State Duals, state traditional ... we want to dominate them. That is our biggest thing.

Other champions were Osage’s duo of Joe Sullivan at 113 and Zach Williams at 160.

Charles City had three qualifiers, including champion Dylan Koresh at 152. He beat Jared Shaw of Garner-Hayfield/Ventura, 9-1, in the finals.

Aplington-Parkersburg’s Hunter Maitland took the title at 182 and South Hardin’s Ryne Fuller topped McKade Eisentrager of Iowa Falls-Alden, 9-5, to claim the title at heavyweight. Eisentrager also qualified.

ONE MORE THAN LAST YEAR: With two champions and four runner-up finishes, Osage will advance six wrestlers to state.

In addition to Sullivan and Williams, the Green Devils also saw Averee Abben (106), Joe Jacobs (120), Brody Roll (132) and Spencer Mooberry (145) qualify.

None of Osage’s six qualifiers are seniors.

“It’s been a good year,” Green Devils head coach Brent Jennings said. “We are young. We’re pretty excited about what we have on the horizon with Osage wrestling, and pretty excited for these kids. They worked hard in the offseason to have a chance to earn this.”

Mooberry, a freshman, was the Green Devils’ final qualifier as he won a 145-pound wrestleback, 10-6, over Braxton Doebel of Clear Lake, avenging a sectional loss to Doebel and winning the rubber match of the season series.

MAITLAND MAKES IT: A year ago, Maitland didn’t even make it out of sectionals. The Falcon has soared a lot farther in 2017-18.

With a late third-period takedown, Maitland won the 182-pound district crown with a 7-5 win over NH-TV’s Rosonke.

“It is a pretty big deal,” Maitland said. “I’ve been working on this for a long time now and to finally get down there ... it feels good to be going to state. Now I just need to keep doing what I’ve been doing. I’m confident I can stick with anybody when I do what I do.”



Team Pts. Qual.

New Hampton 186 9

Osage 97 6

Clear Lake 94 3

Charles City 65 3

Iowa Falls-Alden 40 1

South Hardin 40 2

Aplington-Parkersburg 18 1

Hampton-Dumont 14 1

Roland-Story 14 1

Garner-Hayfield 12 1


CHAMPIONSHIP — Sam Nelson (Clear Lake) dec. Averee Abben (Osage), 5-2.

SECOND — Abben.


CHAMPIONSHIP — Joe Sullivan (Osage) dec. Taylor Kolthoff (South Hardin), 15-7

SECOND — Kolthoff.


CHAMPIONSHIP — Carson Babcock (NHTV) pinned Joe Jacobs (Osage), 2:57.

SECOND — Jacobs


CHAMPIONSHIP — Eric Faught (CL) pinned Mason Cleveland (NHTV), 3:54.

SECOND — Cleveland


CHAMPIONSHIP — Max Babcock (NHTV) pinned Brody Roll (Osage), 3:52.

SECOND — Roll.


CHAMPIONSHIP — Michael Blockhus (NHTV) pinned Koby Hasselbrock (Roland-Story), :44.

SECOND — Hassebrock dec. Jackson Hamlin (CL), 4-0.


CHAMPIONSHIP — Noah Fye (NHTV) dec. Braxton Doebel (CL), 2-0.

SECOND — Spencer Mooberry (Osage) dec. Doebel 10-6.


CHAMPIONSHIP — Dylan Koresh (Charles City) dec. Jared Shaw (Garner-Hayfield), 9-1.

SECOND — Shaw.


CHAMPIONSHIP — Zach Williams (Osage) dec. Cale Reicks (NHTV) 15-7.

SECOND — Reicks.


CHAMPIONSHIP — Noah Glaser (NHTV) pinned Jack Sindlinger (CC), 1:35.

SECOND — Sindlinger.


CHAMPIONSHIP — Hunter Maitland (APGC) dec. Evan Rosonke (NHTV) 7-5.

SECOND — Rosonke.


CHAMPIONSHIP — Kade Hambly (CL) dec. Dalton Chipp (Hampton-Dumont), 9-3.

SECOND — Chipp dec. Max Schwickerath (NHTV), 5-4.


CHAMPIONSHIP — Areon Day (NHTV) pinned Josh Halligan (CC), 1:38.

SECOND — Halligan.


CHAMPIONSHIP — Ryne Fuller (SH) dec. McKade Eisentrager (IFA), 9-5.

SECOND — Eisentrager.


Sports Reporter

Sports reporter for The Courier

Load comments