Waterloo Black Hawks goaltender Jared Moe has committed to play college hockey for the University of Minnesota beginning with the 2019-2020 season.

Moe, in his first season in Waterloo, was also added to the NHL Central Scouting Players to Watch list for the 2018 NHL Draft Wednesday. The New Prague, Minn., native is 4-3-0 with two shutouts, a 1.44 goals-against average and a 94.6 save percentage.

The World Junior A Challenge in December will feature three representatives from the Waterloo Black Hawks.

Head coach P.K. O’Handley, trainer Todd Klein and forward Jack Drury will make the trip to Truro, Nova Scotia, for the annual showcase of junior hockey talent.

O’Handley was the first coach to take a U.S. team to the event, claiming a bronze medal in 2007. He returned to lead a gold medal performance in 2010. Klein is making his seventh trip to the event. Drury, a second-year Black Hawks forward, has a goal and six assists in 12 games this season.


Cedar Falls High senior Rhett Smeins was honored as a 2017 recipient of the Iowa Bankers Association Student Athlete Achievement Scholarship during the state football championships at the UNI-Dome.

The $1,000 scholarship recognizes a graduating senior for academic performance, athletic participation, leadership skills and community involvement.

Wartburg College senior Tom Schiffer was named Academic All-District Thursday by the Collegiate Sports Information Directors of America.

An offensive lineman from Mason City, Schiffer is a math and actuarial science major with a 3.74 grade-point average. He helped the Knights to an undefeated regular season and Iowa Conference championship this fall.


Iowa State signee Ashley Joens of Iowa City High has been named to the Naismith Trophy High School watch list that honors the nation’s top high school players.

Joens, a 5-foot-9 guard, is a three-time first-team all-stater and three-time Mississippi Valley Conference MVP. She averaged 21.2 points, 10.1 rebounds, 1.3 assists and 2.1 steals last season and is currently ranked as the No. 19 overall prospect in the Class of 2018 by ESPN’s Hoop Gurlz.


Northern Iowa’s strong volleyball tradition was evident Thursday when the Missouri Valley Conference announced its 25th anniversary squad.

Former UNI players make up half the 10-member team, starting with Molly O’Brien, a three-time MVC Player of the Year, an AVCA All-American and the top vote-getter in the balloting.

Jill Arganbright (2000-03), Kara Galer (1992-95), Shannon Perry (1996-99) and Bre Payton (2008-11) also made the team. Payton was a three-time conference Player of the Year and a two-time All-American, Arganbright is the league’s all-time assists leader, Galer was a two-time league Player of the Year and Perry was a two-time Player of the Year and an All-American.

Also making the squad were Lindsay Stalzer of Bradley, Ashley Rosch of Illinois State, Lily Johnson of Missouri State, Linette White of Missouri State and Abbie Lehman of Wichita State.


Load comments