Dike-New Hartford's Morgan Weber, left, and Sydney Petersen work together during Dike-Hew Hartford vs Western Christian Class 2A championship action of the Iowa High School Volleyball Tournament played Friday, Nov. 10, 2017 at the US Cellular Center in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Sioux City Journal photo by Tim Hynds

Sioux City Journal photo by Tim Hynds

DES MOINES -- Dike-New Hartford’s Sydney Petersen demonstrated the type of impact a libero can have on a volleyball match throughout her senior season.

The University of Texas volleyball recruit was named the Iowa Girls Coaches Association’s Player of the Year on the all-state annual honor team that was released today.

Petersen averaged 4.23 digs per set her senior season. She provided back row stability for a Dike-New Hartford team that won the program’s sixth state title in the past seven years and finished the season with a state-leading 50 wins, including victories over the eventual state champion in Class 1A, 3A and 5A.

Sydney Petersen was joined on the elite all-state team by her twin sister, Baylee Petersen, who led the Wolverines with 3.85 kills and averaged 2.81 digs per set, and sophomore teammate Morgan Weber who averaged 3.6 kills and 2.85 digs per set.

Class 5A state champion Cedar Falls was represented on the elite team by the Mississippi Valley Conference Valley Division’s co-athletes of the year Taylor Lynch and Tayah Mahi. Lynch, an Illinois State recruit, ranked among the state leaders with 89 aces. Mahi, a UNI signee, finished her career with over 4,000 assists from the setter position.

Similiar to Cedar Falls’ rise from a state runner-up finish last season, Anna Sinnott earned elite all-state honors after serving as the lead attacker for a Columbus team that won Class 3A’s championship. Sinnott tallied over 80 kills in three state tournament matches to captain the all-tournament team. Also the Class 3A Player of the Year, Sinnott ranked among the state leaders with an average of 4.76 kills and 2.25 digs per set during her senior campaign.

State champion Janesville was led by Class 1A's Player of the Year in outside hitter Bree Thompson. Her teammates, junior setter Alisa Bengen and senior outside hitter Kennedy Meister, also earned first team all-state honors.

Wichita State recruit Grace Burken joined her Cedar Falls teammates on the Class 5A first all-state team.

Independence junior Madison Larson was named to the first team in Class 4A after guiding the Mustangs on a state-qualifying run.

Iowa State recruit Kate Shannon joined her Columbus teammate Sinnott on the first team in Class 3A. Osage’s senior leader Kelsey Havel was named to the first team in 3A after helping the Green Devils reach the state semifinals.

Sumner-Fredericksburg senior setter Jenna Brandt joined the Dike-New Hartford elite team trio as all-staters in Class 2A.

Championship coaches Shelly Sorensen of Janesville, Diane Harms of Dike-New Hartford, Hanna Nuss of Columbus and Matt Johnson of Cedar Falls were named Coach of the Year in their respective classes.

IGCA all-state volleyball

ALL-CLASS PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Sydney Petersen (Dike-New Hartford)

ELITE TEAM — Sydney Petersen (Dike-New Hartford), Baylee Petersen (Dike-New Hartford), Anna Sinnott (Waterloo Columbus), Ashtyn Veerbeek (Western Christian), Morgan Weber (Dike-New Hartford), Madi Kubik (West Des Moines Valley), Taylor Lynch (Cedar Falls), Tayah Mahi (Cedar Falls), Devyn Robinson (Ankeny Centennial).

Class 5A

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Madi Kubik (WDM Valley)

FIRST TEAM — Kubik (WDM Valley), Taylor Lynch (Cedar Falls), Tayah Mahi (Cedar Falls), Devyn Robinson (Ankeny Centennial), Sally Gaul (Dowling), Maddie Slagle (Cedar Rapids Jefferson), Megan Renner (Linn-Mar), Grace Burken (Cedar Falls).

Area only

SECOND TEAM — Claire Gerdes (Cedar Falls)

HONORABLE MENTION — Cynthia Wolf (Cedar Falls)

Class 4A

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Charlotte Richards (Cedar Rapids Xavier)

FIRST TEAM — Richards (Xavier), Emily Holterhaus (Pella), Katherine Poore (Lewis Central), Kylee Christensen (Sergeant Bluff Luton), Aliyah Carter (Wahlert), Madison Larson (Independence), Abigail Weideman (Center Point-Urbana), Caitlyn Smith (Marion).

Area only

SECOND TEAM — Jayme Willemssen (Waverly-Shell Rock), Claire Marsh (Waverly-Shell Rock).

HONORABLE MENTION — Krissa Larson (Waverly-Shell Rock)

Class 3A

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Anna Sinnott (Waterloo Columbus)

FIRST TEAM — Aimee Adams (Kuemper Catholic), Anna Sinnott (Columbus), Alexis Toering (Sioux Center), Kelsey Havel (Osage), Kate Shannon (Columbus), Sierra Athen (Red Oak), Kalee Peters (Kuemper Catholic).

Area only

SECOND TEAM — Rylie Olson (Osage), Olivia Fain (Columbus).

THIRD TEAM — Belle Weber (Union)

HONORABLE MENTION — Jackie Timm (Iowa Falls-Alden)

Class 2A

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Sydney Petersen (Dike-New Hartford)

FIRST TEAM — Sydney Petersen (D-NH), Baylee Petersen (D-NH), Ashtyn Veerbeek (Western Christian), Morgan Weber (D-NH), Jenna Brandt (Sumner-Fredericksburg), Corrina Timmermans (Unity Christian), Sydney McLaren (Council Bluffs St. Albert), Aubrey Putnam (Wilton).

Area only

SECOND TEAM — Madison Hedges (D-NH), Kylie Willis (Grundy Center), Amber Rickert (D-NH).

HONORABLE MENTION — Landry Luhring (Grundy Center)

Class 1A

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Bree Thompson (Janesville)

FIRST TEAM — Bree Thompson (Janesville), Emily Box (Holy Trinity), Katie Peters (Le Mars Gehlen), Alisa Bengen (Janesville), Kennedy Meister (Janesville), Madi Wagaman (Springville), Maya Rashid (Holy Trinity), Alyssa Jaeger (Springville).

Area only

SECOND TEAM — Kennedy Drewis (Tripoli), Lily Liekweg (Janesville), Katie Kopriva (North Tama), McKayla Boeschen (Dunkerton).

THIRD TEAM — Hayley Goedken (Starmont), Sadie Brobst (Tripoli).

HONORABLE MENTION — Zoe Zemelroth (Tripoli), Regan Janssen (Starmont), Carli Teisinger (Dunkerton).


Sports Reporter

Sports reporter for The Courier

Load comments