IOWA CITY — Cedar Falls made a strong runner-up showing Saturday at the Iowa City High Mercer Invitational boys’ swimming meet.

Ankeny won the team title with 346 points, while the Tigers finished with 317.

Dylan Moffatt won the 500 freestyle for Cedar Falls in a meet record 4:37.23, beating the old mark set in 2015 by almost two seconds. Moffatt also placed third in the 200 individual medley (1:58.60).

Cedar Falls’ team of Sam Reinart, Moffatt, Dawson Bremner and Jared Mattson won the 200 freestyle relay in 1:28.85 and captured the 400 freestyle relay in 3:17.30.

In addition, Reinart was second in the 100 backstroke (53.52) and third in the 200 freestyle (1:48.01), Mattson was third in the 100 freestyle (50.49) and fourth in the 50 freestyle (23.01), Bremner was fourth in the 100 butterfly (54.79), and Benson Redfern was fourth in the 100 backstroke (55.95).


WATERLOO 4, DES MOINES CAPITALS 3, SO: Jason Katz delivered a shootout goal and goaltender Chase Pabst made it a game-winner Saturday night as Waterloo pulled out a 4-3 Midwest High School Hockey League win over the Des Moines Capitals in Des Moines.

The Warriors took advantage of a Des Moines penalty to grab a 1-0 lead 13:47 into the first period. Kyle Cowell converted the power play with assists from Carter Herbst and Ethan Fox.

The action heated up in the second period. Des Moines drew even at the 6:01 mark, but Kole Latusick got the lead back for the Warriors with assists from Jason Katz and Ben Sinnott. The Capitals answered with two unanswered goals to take a 3-2 lead into the third.

Waterloo’s Ben Sinnott tied it at 3-3 5:36 into the third, and that’s where the score remained for the rest of regulation.

After a scoreless overtime, Nick Samuelson converted his shootout chance for gthe Warriors, but the Capitals answered to set the stage for Katz’s winner.

Waterloo (5-5-1-1) plays at the Des Moines Oak Leafs Sunday.



Score by periods

Waterloo 1 1 1 0 1 — 4

D.M. Capitals 0 3 0 0 0 — 3

First period — 1. Waterloo, Cowell (Herbst, Fox), 13:47. Penalties — Fox-Wat. (slashing) 7:16, Mitchell-DMC (cross-checking) 12:30, Porepp-DMC (elbowing) 17:00.

Second period — 2. D.M. Capitals, Topliff (Porepp, O’Brien), 6:01. 3. Waterloo, Latusick (Katz, Sinnott), 9:24. 4. D.M. Capitals, Martin (Mitchell, Dressen), 11:17. 5. D.M. Capitals, Mitchell (Rose, Magneson), 15:54. Penalties — Lamb-Wat. (high-sticking) 6:53, Boezinger-Wat. (slashing) 13:22.

Third period — 6. Waterloo, Sinnott (Katz), 5:36. Penalties — Lamb-Wat. (tripping) 3:21, Dressen-DMC (high-sticking) 12:34, Mitchell-DMC (unsportsmanlike conduct, misconduct) 12:34.

Overtime — No scoring. Penalties — Samuelson-Wat. (unsportsmanlike conduct) 5:00, Katz-Wat. (unsportsmanlike conduct) 5:00, Evers-DMC (unsportsmanlike conduct, misconduct) 5:00, Krueger-DMC (unsportsmanlike conduct) 5:00.

Shootout — Waterloo (Samuelson, Katz). Des Moines (Krueger).

Shots on goal

Waterloo 55

D.M. Capitals 19

Goaltenders—Waterloo, Pabst 19 SOG, 16 saves). D.M. Capitals, Heffron (55 SOG, 52 saves).

Officials—Huneke, Borgen, Ill.


Highlights: Dayton Richter and Andrew Schoonover had goals for Waterloo with assists from J.P. Smith and Ethan Fox. Rylan Dunn stopped 22 of the 24 shots he faced in goal.


Load comments