Dike-New Hartford's Morgan Weber, left, and Sydney Petersen work together during Dike-Hew Hartford vs Western Christian Class 2A championship action of the Iowa High School Volleyball Tournament played Friday, Nov. 10, 2017 at the US Cellular Center in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Sioux City Journal photo by Tim Hynds

Sioux City Journal photo by Tim Hynds

State champions Dike-New Hartford and Waterloo Columbus grabbed six of the nine spots on the all-North Iowa Cedar League East volleyball team announced Tuesday.

Dike-New Hartford senior libero Sydney Petersen was also named the Player of the Year while Wolverines coach Diane Harms and Columbus coach Hanna Nuss shared Coach of the Year honors.

Joining Sydney Petersen from D-NH’s 50-3 Class 2A state championship team on the all-league first team are senior setter Madison Hedges, senior outside hitter Baylee Petersen and sophomore outside hitter Morgan Weber.

Columbus senior outside hitter Anna Sinnott and junior libero Kate Shannon are on the first team following a 36-8 season that culminated with the Class 3A state title.

Other first-team picks are Jenna Brandt of Sumner-Fredericksburg, Sydney Andrews of Jesup and Belle Weber of Union.

All-NICL East

First team — Madison Hedges, sr. (Dike-N.H.), Baylee Petersen, sr. (Dike-N.H.), Sydney Petersen, sr. (Dike-N.H.), Morgan Weber, soph. (Dike-N.H.), Sydney Andrews, sr. (Jesup), Jenna Brandt, sr. (Sumner-Fredericksburg), Belle Weber, fr. (Union), Kate Shannon, jr. (Columbus), Anna Sinnott, sr. (Columbus).

Second team — Jenna Bruns, jr. (Aplington-Parkersburg), Carlee Dove, jr. (Dike-N.H.), Amber Rickert, jr. (Dike-N.H.), Ashlyn Kuhn, fr. (Hudson), Jordan Burrows, soph. (Sumner-Fredericksburg), Haylee Keune, sr. (Union), Hanna Clasen, sr. (Columbus), Olivia Fain, sr. (Columbus), Avery Kroll, soph. (Columbus), MiKenna Joerger, jr. (Wapsie Valley), Gabby Corday, jr. (Denver).

Honorable mention — Canon DeGroote, sr. (Aplington-Parkersburg), Allison Waterman, jr. (Denver), Allie Aalderks, sr. (Dike-N.H.), Whitley Galbraith, jr. (Hudson), Alexis Harris, fr. (Jesup), Mariah Nuss, jr. (Sumner-Fredericksburg), Haylee Brown, sr. (Union), Kaci Beesecker (Wapsie Valley), Sydney Schultz, jr. (Columbus).

Player of year — Sydney Petersen, sr. (Dike-N.H.)

Coaches of year — Diane Harms (Dike-N.H.), Hanna Nuss (Columbus)


Load comments