IOWA CITY — A pair of Waterloo Columbus defending champions advanced to the semifinals of the Class 1A state tennis championships Thursday at the University of Iowa Tennis Courts.

In singles action, Olivia Fain dropped just one game as she continued her quest to repeat as champion.

In her opening match, Fain blanked Wynee Vandersall of Mount Vernon, 6-0, 6-0, before topping Bry Ronca of Ballard of Huxley, 6-0, 6-1.

Decorah’s Kally Peterson won her opening over Sarah Abu-Nameh of Cedar Rapids Xavier, 6-0, 6-4, but dropped her next to matches to be eliminated.

In the doubles, defending champions Lauren McManus and Taylor Hogan had a pair of tough matches to reach the semifinals. The duo opened with a 6-1, 6-1 win over Lydia Becker and Claire Hackenmiller of Burlington Notre Dame, before being pushed by Sydnee Redman and Sydney SIckles of Clarke in the quarterfinals where McManus-Taylor won 6-4, 6-3.

The Sailors other doubles team of Brianne Eighme and Karlee Sinnott, last year’s runner-ups, lost their opening set to Erin McGivern and Sydney Johnson of Davenport Assumption, 7-6, but cruised the rest of the afternoon winning the final two sets against McGivern-Johnson, 6-0, 6-1, and then topping Bronwyn Metcalf and Cecily Johnson of Pella, 6-2, 6-1 in the quarterfinals.

Waverly-Shell Rock’s Chelsea Poesch and Madi Overman await Eighme-Sinnott in the semifinals. The Go-Hawk duo started with a 6-4, 6-3 win over Carolyn Conlon and Anna Freiburger of Dubuque Wahlert, before topping Alison Bueltel and Ashley Thorn of Spirit Lake, 6-1, 6-0 in the quarterfinals.

In Class 2A singles action in Ankeny, Cedar Falls freshman Krisha Keeran went 1-2 and was eliminated. After losing her opening match, Keeran topped Sofia Sackett of West Des Moines Dowling in her first consolation match 6-1, 6-3, before losing in the consolation quarterfinals.

Semifinals and championship play continues today at both sites.


Class 1A


FIRST ROUND — Olivia Fain (Columbus) def. Wynne Vandersall (Mount Vernon), 6-0. 6-0, Bry Ronca (Ballard) def. Ellie Osterloh (Glenwood), 6-2, 6-4, Brooke Jorgensen (Pella) def. Stephanie Bush (Assumption), 2-6, 6-1, 6-1, Jacqueline Ingram (Denison-Schleswig) def. Gretchen Jones (Clear Lake), 6-0, 6-3, Lily Roozeboom (Pella) def. Sarah Wood (Shenandoah), 7-5, 6-2, Kally Peterson (Decorah) def. Sarah Abu-Nameh (CR Xavier), 6-0, 6-4, Audrey Hintz (Dubuque Wahlert), def. Elizabeth Ihrke (Le Mars), 6-0, 6-3, Anatta Charoenkul (Fairfield) def. Katie Rietz (Ballard) 6-0, 6-0.

QUARTERFINALS — Fain def. Ronca 6-0, 6-1, Jorgensen def. Ingram 6-4, 6-4, Roozeboom def. Peterson 6-2, 6-0, Charoenkul def. Hinz 6-0, 6-0.

CONSOLATION QUARTERFINALS (Area only) — Jones def. Peterson 1-6, 6-0, 1-0.


FIRST ROUND — Lauren McManus/Taylor Hogan (Columbus) def. Lydia Becker/Claire Hackenmiller (Burlington ND), 6-1, 6-1, Sydnee Redman/Sydney Sickles (Clarke) def. Megan Pressgrove/Bethany Baumgartner (Newton), 6-3, 6-3, Marilyn Cepeda/Nichole Gilbert (Shenandoah) def. Anna Spencer/Carina Yee (Decorah), 7-6, 4-6, 7-6, Meghann Long/Anna Herrig (Dubuque Wahlert) def. Kendall Evans/Josie Condon (Estherville) 6-4, 6-1, Brianne Eighme/Karlee Sinnott (Columbus) def. Erin McGivern/Sydney Johnson (Assumption), 6-7, 6-0, 6-1, Bronwyn Metcalf/Cecily Johnson (Pella) def. Brooklyn Taylor/Erin Stanley (Glenwood), 6-2, 6-4, Alison Bueltel/Ashley Thorn (Spirit Lake) def. Megan Linskens/Deseree Stubbe (Clarke), 6-3, 6-2, Chelsea Poesch/Madi Overman (Waverly-Shell Rock) def. Carolyn Conlon/Anna Freiburger (Dubuque Wahlert), 6-4, 6-3.

QUARTERFINALS — McManus-Hogan def. Redman-Sickels 6-4, 6-3, Cepeda-Gilbert def. Long-Herrig 4-6, 7-6, 6-4, Eighme-Sinnott def. Metcalf-Johnson 6-2, 6-1, Poesch-Overman def. Bueltel/Thorn 6-1, 6-0.

CONSOLATION FIRST ROUND (Area only) — Spencer-Yee def. Becker-Hackenmiller 7-5, 6-4,

CONSOLATION QUARTERFINALS (Area only) — Spencer-yee def. Bueltel-Thorn 6-1, 2-6, 1-0.

Class 2A

FIRST ROUND (Area only) — Cari Naanep (Johnston) def. Krisha Keeran (Cedar Falls), 6-1, 6-4.

CONSOLATION FIRST ROUND (Area only) — Keeran def. Sofia Sackett (WDM Dowling), 6-1, 6-3.

CONSOLATION QUARTERFINALS (Area only) — Bihotza James-Lejarcegui (Iowa City High) def. Keeran 1-6, 6-1, 1-0.


Sports Reporter

Sports reporter for The Courier

Load comments