Cedar Falls’ Austin Marchesani and Waterloo West’s Nick Joens earned second-team honors on the All-Mississippi Valley Conference teams released Friday.

Marchesani, a senior pitcher, earned a spot on the Valley Division squad. He went 4-4 on the mound with a 2.01 earned-run average, 49 strikeouts and just eight walks in 48 2/3 innings. At the plate, Marchesani recorded a .304 average with five doubles, two homers and 18 RBIs.

Joens, a senior infielder, is on the Mississippi Division team. He ranked second in batting average for the Wahawks at .299 and had seven doubles, two triples, a homer and 21 RBIs.

Waterloo East’s Cameron Berinobis and Dylan Gehrke and West’s Noah Susong and Cameren Happel were honorable mention selections in the Mississippi Division, while Cedar Falls had Casey Sole and Connor Schultz on the Valley Division honorable mention list.

All-MVC baseball


First team

P—Braden Houston, jr. (I.C. West), Connor Van Scoyoc, jr. (C.R. Jefferson)

C—Tony Comellas, jr. (I.C. West)

1B—Nate Disterhoft, sr. (I.C. West)

IF—Brayden Frazier, jr. (C.R. Jefferson), Izaya Ono-Fullard, sr. (I.C. West), Gabe Lux, jr. (C.R. Xavier)

OF—Drake Frazier, soph. (C.R. Jefferson), Bryce Schulte, sr. (C.R. Xavier), Jason Strunk, soph. (I.C. West)

UT—Connor McCaffery, sr. (I.C. West), Austin Savary, sr. (Dub. Wahlert)

Second team (metro only)

IF—Nick Joens, sr. (Wat. West)

Honorable mention (metro only)

Cameron Berinobis, jr. (Wat. East), Dylan Gehrke, sr. (Wat. East), Noah Susong, soph. (Wat. West), Cameren Happel, sr. (Wat. West)

All-Academic (metro only)

Brandon Secor (Wat. East), Noel Guzman (Wat. East), Nick Joens (Wat. West), Dylan Moore (Wat. West)

Athlete of year—Austin Savary, sr. (Dub. Wahlert)

Coach of year—Charlie Stumpff (I.C. West)


First team

P—Casey Day, jr. (C.R. Prairie), Brett McCleary, sr. (I.C. High)

C—Matt Berst, sr. (C.R. Kennedy)

1B—Harrison Cook, soph. (C.R. Prairie)

IF—Caleb Sass, sr. (I.C. High), Brady Bunten, jr. (C.R. Washington), T.J. Deardorff, sr. (Dub. Senior)

OF—Levi Usher, jr. (C.R. Prairie), Lincoln Riley, soph. (C.R. Washington), Wil Courtney, jr. (Dub. Hempstead)

UT—Drew Dostal, sr. (C.R. Washington), Zach Stone, sr. (I.C. High)

Second team (metro only)

P—Austin Marchesani, sr. (Cedar Falls)

Honorable mention (metro only)

Casey Sole, soph. (Cedar Falls), Connor Schultz, sr. (Cedar Falls)

All-Academic (metro only)

Austin Marchesani (Cedar Falls), Kane Fairman (Cedar Falls), Connor Schultz (Cedar Falls)

Athlete of year—Levi Usher, jr. (C.R. Prairie)

Coach of year—Brian Mitchell (I.C. High)


Load comments