West High School logo


Former University of Northern Iowa basketball standout and fan favorite Eric Coleman has signed to play for the Cedar Valley CourtKings.

Coleman played for the Panthers from 2004-2008 and was named Missouri Valley Conference Freshman of the Year in 2004. He was a two-time second-team all-MVC performer and led the league in rebounding twice.

From there, the 6-foot-7 Coleman embarked on an overseas professional career where he has played for teams in Poland, Spain, Ukraine, Germany, Angola and France.

Coleman will make his CourtKings debut Sunday when Cedar Valley hosts Lincoln at 7:30 p.m. at the Cedar Valley SportsPlex in Waterloo.


Waterloo West is planning an Alumni Baseball Tournament Sunday at the Wahawks’ Danny Van Syoc Memorial Field.

The tournament is scheduled to begin at noon Sunday, but the field will be available to players for batting practice, throwing and fielding Saturday at a time to be determined.

As of Monday, 27 former Wahawks had committed to participate, but more are needed to create a four-team tournament. For more information, contact Kase Walton by phone at (319) 610-1323 or by email at kase.walton@nm.com


Northern Iowa and Iowa State have tentatively rescheduled their rained out softball game for Wednesday, April 26 at 4 p.m. in Ames.

The date is tentative because UNI plays Drake April 25 and should that game be postponed, it would take priority as a Missouri Valley Conference matchup and would then be played April 26. If that occurs, the UNI-Iowa State game will be moved to April 27.


Two area officials will be recognized for 50 years of service at the Iowa High School Athletic Association’s 23rd annual Officials Recognition Banquet and Awards Ceremony April 29 at the Iowa Events Center in Des Moines.

Michael Amundson of Waterloo and Cary Griffith of Nashua are among 11 officials who will receive the 50-year award.

In addition, Justin Stockdale of Dike will receive the National Federation Officials Association’s district official of the year honor. David Niederhauser of Waterloo, Gary Ewald of Elk Run Heights and Ben Fridley of Hampton will be recognized for 35 years of service. Eric Eckerman and Robert Wharram of Waverly are among the 25-year honorees, while Ryan Eklund and Dennis Peters of Cedar Falls, Jeffrey Pavlovich of Charles City, Dwayne Lundtvedt of Decorah, Thad Espenscheid of Traer, Christopher Martin and Todd Meyerhoff of Waterloo and Rick Hall of Waverly are among the 15-year group.


Load comments