Subscribe for 33¢ / day

TULSA, Okla. — Three University of Northern Iowa wrestlers advanced to the finals of their first Big 12 Conference wrestling championships Saturday.

Max Thomsen at 149, Taylor Lujan at 174 and Drew Foster at 184 will represent the Panthers in Sunday’s title round. Iowa State was unable to advance anyone to the finals.

Thomsen won a 9-0 major decision in the quarterfinals, then defeated Iowa State’s Jarrett Degen 11-5 in the semifinal round. Lujan followed a 22-7 technical fall in the quarters with a 10-7 win over Oklahoma State’s Jacobe Smith to reach the finals. Foster was a 7-2 winner in the quarterfinals before upending Oklahoma State’s Keegan Moore in the semis, 13-8.

UNI’s Josh Alber and Jacob Holschlag suffered tough losses in the semifinals. Alber fell 2-0 to Dean Heil of Oklahoma State while Holschlag was on the short end of a 3-1 sudden victory decision against Nate Rotert of South Dakota State.

In addition to Degen, Iowa State’s Chase Straw and Marcus Harrington suffered semifinal defeats. Straw lost 12-4 to Clay Ream of North Dakota State while Harrington fell to A.J. Nevills of Fresno State.

Ian Parker and Dane Pestano join their Cyclone teammates in consolation action Sunday. Parker picked up two wins and will face Alber at 141 pounds in the consolation semifinals. Pestano also bounced back from a defeat with two victories.

Other UNI wrestlers still in contention for high finishes include Jay Schwarm (125), Logan Ryan (157), Isaiah Patton (165) and Carter Isley (285).

In the team standings, Oklahoma State leads UNI 106.5-78.

Big 12 Championships

TEAM STANDINGS – 1. Oklahoma St. 106,5, 2. Northern Iowa 78, 3. South Dakota St. 6, 4. Wyoming 59, 5. North Dakota St. 49.5, 6. West Virginia 46.5, 7. Oklahoma 46,5, 8. Utah Valley 35.5, 9. Iowa St. 34, 10. Northern Colorado 27.

125 pounds

SEMIFINALS — Nick Piccininni (Okla. St.) maj. dec. Christian Moody (Okla) 11-3. Zeke Moisey (W.Va.) dec. Taylor Lamont (Utah Valley) 8-5.

133 pounds

SEMIFINALS — Seth Gross (S. Dak. St.) maj. dec. Matt Schmitt (W.Va.) 10-2, Kaid Brock (Okla. St.) dec. Montorie Bridges (Wyo) 6-2.

141 pounds

SEMIFINALS — Bryce Meredith (Wyo) dec. Henry Pohlmeyer (S. Dak. St.) 4-0. Dean Heil (Okla. St.) dec. Josh Alber (UNI) 2-0.

149 pounds

SEMIFINALS — Max Thomsen (UNI) dec. Jarrett Degen (Iowa St.) 11-5. 149 Boo Lewallen (Okla. St.) dec. Davion Jeffries (Okla) 10-4 SV.

157 pounds

SEMIFINALS — Clay Ream (N. Dak. St.) maj. dec. Chase Straw (Iowa St.) 12-4. Archie Colgan (Wyo) dec. Luke Zilverberg (S. Dak. St.) 3-1 SV.

165 pounds

SEMIFINALS — Andrew Fogarty (N. Dak. St.) dec. Branson Ashworth (Wyo) 3-1 SV. Chandler Rogers (Okla. St.) F Demetrirus Romero (Utah Valley) 2:11.

174 pounds

SEMIFINALS — Taylor Lujan (UNI) dec. Jacobe Smith (Okla. St.) 10-7. David Kocer (S. Dak. St.) dec. Yoanse Mejias (Okla) 10-8.

184 pounds

SEMIFINALS — Drew Foster (UNI) dec. Keegan Moore (Okla. St.) 13-8. Dylan Gabel (No. Colo.) dec. Martin Mueller (S. Dak. St.) 9-2.

197 pounds

SEMIFINALS — Jake Smith (W. Va.) dec. Preston Weigel (Okla. St.) 4-3. Nate Rotert (S. Dak. St.) dec. Jacob Holschlag (UNI) 3-1 SV.

285 pounds

SEMIFINALS — Derek White (Okla. St.) dec. Dustin Dennison (Utah Valley) 8-1. AJ Nevills (Fresno St.) pinned Marcus Harrington (Iowa St) 7:27


Load comments