Subscribe for 33¢ / day


UNI senior Karter Schult is a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy that recognizes the best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

Schult, a defensive end from Tripoli, is one of 12 finalists and will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete Class. He will travel to New York City for the NFF awards dinner Dec. 6 where his accomplishments will be highlighted and one finalist will be declared the winner of the Campbell Trophy and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Schult was one of 156 semifinalists. In addition to his outstanding performance on the field for UNI, he owns a 3.87 grade-point average with a major in movement and exercise science. He’s also a two-time recipient of the MVFC President’s Academic Excellence Award, a three-time MVFC Commissioner’s Academic Excellence Award winner and a four-time MVFC Honor Roll member.

Cross country

Three University of Northern Iowa student-athletes have bene named to the Missouri Valley Conference Scholar-Athlete team, it was announced Tuesday.

Ashley Norem, Kelsey Kirchoff and Brette Correy, who all finished among the top 10 while leading the Panthers to the MVC championship Saturday, made the academic honor squad while Hannah Truniger was named MVC Freshman of the Year and UNI head coach Dave Paulsen MVC Coach of the Year.

Norem, who owns a 3.90 grade-point average with a major in movement and exercise science, also earned the MVC’s Elite 18 Award. Kirchoff is also majoring in movement and exercise science and carries a 3.42 GPA while Correy is working toward a degree in early and elementary education and sports a 3.85 GPA.


Freshman Katie Taylor of Northern Iowa has been named the Missouri Valley Conference Swimmer of the Week, it was announced Tuesday.

Taylor won the 200 backstroke in a dual meet at Nebraska Friday, then won the 200 freestyle, 200 individual medley and 200 backstroke Saturday at Nebraska-Omaha while also swimming a leg on UNI’s winning 200 medley relay.


Eight Hawkeye Community College soccer players have earned all-Iowa Community College Athletic Conference honors in the program’s first season of competition.

Defender Allison Keitel of DeWitt made the women’s first team, leading the RedTails with five goals, while defender Nikola Petrovic, who scored four goals, made the men’s first team.

Earning second-team honors wer Greta Koons and Abdoul Diaw, while Ruth Boland, Janna Utter, Philippe Audy and Frankie Azzopardi were honorable mention selections.


Iowa Public Television will televise the championship matches from the Iowa state volleyball tournament next week.

The championship schedule starts with the 5A final at 10 a.m. and continues with 4A at 12:15 p.m., 3A at 2:30 p.m., 2A at 4:45 p.m. and 1A at 7 p.m. Games will also be streamed live at


The Hawkeye Community College RedTails finished third in their division and eighth overall at the Scholastic Clay Target Program College National Tournament held Oct. 38-30 in Ohio.

Leading the RedTails were Marcus Draves (194), Jordan Lentz (194), Ross Wolken (188), Austin Boldt (187) and Nathan Wilson (187).


Monday’s story on Cedar Falls High’s victory over Sioux City East in the Class 5A regional volleyball finals contained some inaccurate statistics.

The correct number of kills from the match is as follows: Grace Burken (12), Claire Gerdes (11), Taylor Lynch (9), Cynthia Wolfe (7), Emily Clapp (4) and Tayah Mahi (3).

The Courier regrets the errors.


Load comments