WATERLOO, Iowa --- Incumbents who ran for re-election in several contested Black Hawk County school board races will return for another term and be joined by some newcomers.

Five people vied for three at-large seats on the Hudson Board of Education, including one current board member.

Top voter getters were Traci Trunck with 26.5 percent, Liz Folladori with 23.8 percent and incumbent Jerry D. Griffith with 22.8 percent. Trunck received 257 votes with 231 for Folladori and 221 for Griffith.

Candidate David Ball received 207 votes, or 21.3 percent. Jason Carter got 52 votes. The KWWL-TV morning news anchor had withdrawn from the race, but not soon enough to have his name removed from the ballot. There were also three write-in votes.

Reauthorization was easily won for the Hudson School District's physical plant and equipment levy, as well. The ballot question passed with 303 yes votes, or 78.7 percent. There were 82 no votes, for a total of 385 ballots cast.

The levy will continue a property tax not exceeding $1.34 per $1,000 of taxable value for a decade starting with the 2014-15 fiscal year, when the current one expires.

On Dunkerton's Board of Education, Tony Gamerdinger won the District 3 seat with 63.9 percent, or 147 votes. Challenger Tim Westergreen got 67 votes, or 29.1 percent. There were 16 write-in votes.

Newcomer Amber Shimp won the District 4 seat with 106 votes, or 44.9 percent. No incumbent ran for the seat. Other candidates were Jonathon James Cox with 72 votes, or 30.5 percent, and Heather Howland with 58 votes, or 24.6 percent.

District 2 incumbent Alen Nagel got 176 votes, or 93.6 percent. His seat was not contested. There were 12 write-in votes.

No candidate filed for the District 5 seat. There were a total of 111 write-in votes. Names of those written in were not available.

None of the three Board of Education seats on the ballot in the Waterloo Community Schools were contested.

Incumbent Shanlee McNally received 833 votes, or 96.4 percent, with 31 write-ins for her at-large seat. Incumbent Mike Kindschi of Evansdale received 111 votes with two write-ins for the Director District 1 seat. Newcomer Angela Weekley received 145 votes with three write-ins for the Director District 4 seat.

No seats were contested in the Union School District, either. Brian Weber and incumbent Lisa Anton received 132 and 127 votes, respectively, for their at-large seats. Incumbent James Bronner received 119 votes for the District 1 seat; Kevin Sash received 123 for the District 2 seat; and Cathy Niebergall received 123 for the District 4 seat. Each of the candidates running for the district seats had one write-in vote.

Education reporter for the Courier

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.